Study Abroad Australia


Usual grading system in secondary school

Full Description: The Senior School Certificates (e.g. the Higher School Certificate in New South Wales and the Victorian Certificate of Education in Victoria) are issued on successful completion of courses/programmes of study in both Years 11and 12 or in Year 12 only. Each State and Territory has its own grading system.

Highest on scale: A

Lowest on scale: E


Main grading system used by higher education institutions

Full Description: In 1988, the Australian Vice-Chancellors Committee (AVCC) reviewed Grades of pass for undergraduate degree subjects. Generally High Distinction (HD), Distinction (D), Credit (C), Pass (P) and Fail (F).

Highest on scale: High Distinction (HD) 80-100%

Pass/fail level: Pass (P) 50-60%

Lowest on scale: Fail (F) Below 50%


Other main grading systems

Most postgraduate awards which are issued on the basis of the completion of a thesis are unclassified. Study Abroad Australia


Australia >> Austria >> Holland >> Ireland >> France >> Italy >> Spain >> UK


Education in Australia  
      Admissions to Higher Education  
     Higher Education Structure  
     Grading System  
     Institutions types & Credentials  
     Student Life  
     Two Worlds United Study Abroad Programs






Copyright 2013 Two Worlds United Educational Foundation All rights reserved.
Two Worlds United High School Home  |  Educational Facts  |  Contact Us  |  Terms of Use  |  Online Privacy Policy